Week 14: Activity – Sketching in the CSULB Garden

It was my first time going to the CSULB Japanese Garden and it was absolutely beautiful! I wish I went sooner so that I can sit and relax while listening to music or read a book. My friend came with me and she’s already been to the garden during a trip in high school and the first thing I said to her was, “It’s so green! I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything so green! It’s so nice.”

Since we were supposed to sketch, I honestly had no idea where to start so my friend and I walked around looking for somewhere to sit with a good view of the garden. I started off with the 10, 30 second sketches and continued to do the other sketches, but I didn’t like the way my drawings turned out so I decided to just post the 10, 30 second sketches and my final sketch of my view of the garden. I took a few pictures of the garden so I could go home and continue my final sketch. The experience was amazing, it was calming to sit there, enjoy the view, and then draw. I’m not an artist as you can tell (lol), but I tried to draw the garden as much as I could and add the little details in from the pictures I took. I really enjoyed my time at the garden and this activity was great as well.

Leave a Reply

