Week 12: Activity – Ethnography

What did you think the experience would be like?

I thought the experience would be boring without electricity. I’m usually always doing something on my phone or on my laptop so without those things, I did not think I would have much to do. It seemed like a longer day since watching TV shows or movies made the day go by faster. I spent my day reading a book, writing a few of my thoughts and drawing. When I started to get tired and bored, I took a nap. It was a good experience just to see how life would be without electricity. I enjoyed most of the day since I don’t spend much time reading or writing anymore, it was good to get back on that.

Was it “easy” or “hard”? 

It was not easy or hard. It was a different kind of experience. I just had to find more things to do than I usually would, but I enjoyed the day with myself and my family, without my phone or any type of electricity. I looked for candles the day before so that I would have some type of light during the night.

Did you get better sleep? Are you usually sleep deprived? What would it be like to sleep well every night? 

I decided to sleep early since I wasn’t distracted with TV, my laptop or my phone so I got more sleep. On other days, I only get about 5-7 hours of sleep which is not enough for me to function throughout the day. On the day without electricity, I was able to sleep for 8-10 hours.

How is living without electricity more organic or harmonious with nature?

Living without electricity is more harmonious with nature because during the day nature provide its lights for you and you’re not depending on electricity for it. Without electricity, people can also take time out of their day to walk outside and just admire what beauty nature has given us.

How is living without electricity more limited? Is it boring?

Since we’re in a time of technology and electricity, it’s hard to imagine life without it. Everything we do involves electricity so without it, our options are limited. We’re used to going on our phones and watching TV when we’re bored and it seems that when we don’t have electricity, we have no idea what to do!

I was at home so I decided to walk around the neighborhood and take pictures of trees and the sky as the sun was about to go down.

 

Leave a Reply

